Such Stimulation!

My first week of classes ended just as quickly as it began!  I think I’m really going to enjoy this program — the faculty, the students, the courses, the challenges.  I feel like I made the right decision to come to GW — comforting indeed.

This is going to be such a neat place to live!  On the Metro yesterday I saw ads for the National Book Festival.  Asking what we had planned for the weekend, one of my professors suggested the Newseum and the Corcoran and the Renwick…  There are concerts!  There are book tours!  I’m not sure yet how to keep track of it all, much less make time.  I’m hoping to do at least one thing every week that takes advantage of my location.  Which is excellent.

…And then there’s getting back to being a student!  I love it.  Undeniably love it.  The classes, getting (yes, getting) to research and write papers, the reading.  I love the places my mind travels, the tidbits I pick up from professors and students, and how everything can be woven into this web of knowledge, a sort of lens through which I see the world right now.  Some noteworthy stuff:

  • The Implicit Association Test (IAT).  A Harvard project that tests your biases (i.e. “white people are good, black people are bad,” or vice versa, etc.).
  • This lovely animated short called Polygon, or Firing Range…  What would happen if machines could read emotions?

It’s nice to be encouraged to use my mind again.  Not that it was discouraged before, exactly, but it’s not difficult to fall out of regular practice…

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “Such Stimulation!

  1. Lindsey

    I’m so happy that you’re enjoying it! Nothing like a period of time when you aren’t a student to appreciate it again :-). Am jealous of all the fun activities you’re going to get to do–enjoy!

Leave a Reply

