Mi Casita

(Denver Love Letter #16)

As of June, I will have lived in this apartment for four years — the longest I’ve lived anywhere since I left my parents’ house in 1999.  I’ve turned 25, 26, 27, and 28 here, and will soon turn 29.  I love it.  It’s going to be hard to leave my third-floor corner perch, with its wood floors and walls curved at the ceiling (there’s a word for that; it escapes me).

For the past few weeks I’ve been awakened each morning between 3 and 5 a.m. by cacophonous birds that live just outside my bedroom window.  It’s a little annoying, but still makes me smile.  What a gorgeous little place, what well-lit and airy rooms to call home during my young professional years.

2 Comments

Filed under Denver Love Letters

2 responses to “Mi Casita

  1. jenny

    The birds never bothered me when I was in that room. For me it was that strange bright light at night!

  2. bridgetberninger

    Coved ceilings. Our Denver abodes each share this quaint Art Deco feature.

    There’s something bittersweet about moving on, but adventure prevails!

Leave a Reply

