Survived

  • icky Howard Johnson hotel room
  • driving through Manhattan twice, once in rush hour, with only the normal amount of being honked at (I think)
  • double interview day
  • a purely psychodynamic group interview, which was 2.5 hours long and only included two questions/prompts from the faculty “leading” the group: “take five minutes and get to know someone else in the room, then introduce that person to the rest of us,” and, after a break mid-way, “It’s your first session with a 42-year-old woman who is clinically depressed.  What is your approach?”  The rest was free-form…
  • staying with my lovely and brilliant sister the weekend before mid-review, and actually finding myself able to help, rather than hinder, her progress (it’s like having her own personal librarian!)

Thoughts on a weekend:  Long Island is crowded and kind of pretty but kind of gross.  Endless, endless suburbs, people everywhere in their cars, parts a little Stepfordish, other parts quite the contrary.  If I ever live among so many people, I want it to be a city setting, with access to culture and good transportation.  I don’t think I could live on Long Island, but most of the students in both programs live in Brooklyn or Queens.  I think it might be a little more expensive, and the commute doesn’t sound great, but socially I think it’s what I would need if I were to go to school out there.  I don’t want to spend ages 29-33 in suburban hell.  But I like both of the programs…  We’ll see…

Ugh.  Middle age is fast approaching.  Thinking of how old I’ll be when I finish this program is a little depressing, but as my 50-something-year-old doctor-in-residence second cousin said once, “Whether I go to medical school or not, I’ll be 55 either way…” (she started medical school when she was 50).

Epic west-coast trip this weekend: Portland, Berkeley, and home in a little over 48 hours.  I’m 3/4 done with the interview process.  And then the waiting…

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “Survived

  1. ha — this is basically the same as the last post with slightly different words… sorry.

  2. Grats on making it through!

    I don’t think I’d like Long Island, either…

    p.s. you are NOT approaching middle age! Well, unless you intend to die at 60…

Leave a Reply

