Out of My System!

Surprised and honored to be the “volunteer of the month” at the crisis hotline — I still only feel like I know what I’m doing half the time.  Funny how a paper certificate and announcement help (my) morale.

I am tired.  I could sleep nonstop, for days and days.  I think I’m fighting off something.  Work is also incredibly boring right now (not many people around, wrapping up winter quarter requests).  It usually only takes a couple days of this before I focus on some backburner project and have at it (soon, soon!).  I’m quitting caffeine (I think it only hurts me).  Right now the quitting is hurting me.

A note on nesting:

So lately I’ve been more interested than usual in dating, as you all know.  Also, I’m touched — seriously touched by things like this:

and this:

and even this:

I’m sorry.  I hope you’ll still read my blog.

Anyway, what the effing eff is going on?  One friend says my “uterus is fluttering,” and I think he’s freaked out.  I don’t want children at this point.  It’s all going to be okay, everyone.

However: I have gained, inexplicably, about ten pounds since this whole thing started, despite not really changing my eating or exercise habits in any negative way apart from more coffee and, subsequently, more soy milk.  So I’m wondering if it’s not just some estrogen thing.  Thus the quitting of the caffeine…  If it were just the weight and fuzzy-kitty-baby-love, it would be one thing, but I don’t want to have to buy new jeans and bras right now.

3 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

3 responses to “Out of My System!

  1. Very interesting. I don’t know. Could be the soy milk, but a person is allowed to be oddly sentimental at times!

    I’ve switched almost strictly to almond milk and I’m pretty cool with that. I have a borderline low thyroid and soy is not supposed to be too good for that.

    Hugs and Warm Fuzzies,
    HCSQ

  2. p.s. I haven’t tried it yet but there is a coconut milk coffee creamer that sounds interesting. Of course you’re going !caffeine, but maybe if you had decaf it would be just appealing enough during the caffeine to decaf transition.

  3. strider

    Hannah has a good point mentioning a thyroid, fatigue and weight gain are very much indications of changes to thyroid levels, have you had your TSH levels checked recently?

    Cheers for the holiday! I hope you’re doing well.

Leave a Reply

