Weekend in Review

Most fun birthday party of all time last night including magic and music and cupcakes and lots and lots of friends (oh, and drink).  Happy birthday to Christopher and Joshua!

Other things…

Tattered Cover was mantastic on Friday night.  Seriously, it was like all of the state’s men descended on the bookstore for some sports book signing.  I mostly avoided eye contact.

The Denver Film Festival ends today.  I saw Fish Tank, which is maybe the saddest movie I’ve ever seen, ever, but also good.  It’s a desolate portrayal of east London (I think), and this poor girl and her crappy life.  The saddest thing is that I think the story is pretty realistic.  I also saw several shorts: Adelaide (sort of Wes Anderson pathological character-ish), A Day Late in Oakland (a documentary), StereoLife (sort of campy sci-fi), and Gaining Ground (a German film about Ukrainian immigrants; my favorite of the bunch).  And the mayor.  I also saw the mayor, as in the beloved, real guy.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

