Infinite Jest is Ruining my Life

Okay, so maybe it’s just ruining my reading habit.  I can’t finish it for the life of me.  I’ll admit I’m not trying that hard.  I think part of the problem was that I held back a bit this summer and tried to pace myself with the Infinite Summer folks…  Then I started to freak out about the GRE(s) and read this

51KPNMEP0GL._SS500_

and this

GRE

and this

psych GRE

and this

StoryPsychology

almost in their entirety.  But not quite.

And now I’m thinking about application essays and trying to read with those in mind…  I’m only 200 pages away with Infinite Jest.  I could knock that out on a good wintry mix Sunday.  I’ll do it, eventually.  And I do like the book.  Sigh.

Yeah, so, remember last year when I read all the time?  And as recently as May when I wasn’t a caffeine fiend?  I bought this yesterday:

mr-coffee-model-nlx5-21107956

It is programmable so that my coffee will help me awaken in the morning.  I suppose if I had to choose between morning caffeine dependency and waking up at four and not being able to sleep (as has been the case for many years), I would choose the former, hands down.

3 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

3 responses to “Infinite Jest is Ruining my Life

  1. jfochek

    Yay, caffeine! I’m a fan. 😉

  2. Good luck with the GRE, it’s not as bad as they make it out to be!

  3. Luckily it is all done! I hope to never take it again…

Leave a Reply

