I Don’t Care How Tall You Are, but I’ll Judge You by Your Book Collection

I really can’t help it.  It’s not a deal-breaker or anything, but it can certainly help in the deal-making process.

Anyway, the blogger behind Infinite Detox, a spinoff of the Infinite Summer project in which lots of people read David Foster Wallace’s Infinite Jest (and many more, I assume, did not finish it — like me, so far) posted a great piece yesterday.  Allegedly Dan Brown of Da Vinci Code fame and DFW were in a writing class together in college…  infinitedetox imagines interactions between the two of them over the course of a writing workshop.  Funny stuff.  We have an obvious favorite.

Feeling pretty much completely deflated today.  I’m tired of: image files, classroom technology, being nervous, dating and not dating, being a perfectionist, the GRE, and so much of my self-worth being wrapped up in this nebulous “intelligence” thing, especially as I feel like I’m not getting much smarter lately (in general and as measured by standardized tests I used to do so well on).  Sigh.  Loving this new album by Noah and the Whale, though:

NoahandtheWhale

Almost to the point of wanting to fly somewhere later this month to see them live…  Anyone up for a trip?  Or hosting me?

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “I Don’t Care How Tall You Are, but I’ll Judge You by Your Book Collection

  1. melissa

    Sunday, October 25th, Doug Fir, Portland, Oregon. Come for the weekend! Flights are only $150ish. I haven’t listened to Noah and the Whale, but I’d love to host you…

Leave a Reply

