Another Point for Nostalgia

Here’s an interesting little essay by Umberto Eco called “The Lost Art of Handwriting.”  It made me more than a little bit sad, especially when he says that “most kids – what with computers (when they use them) and text messages – can no longer write by hand, except in laboured capital letters.”  Sad, sad, sad.

I can only speak for myself, but I think the development of my handwriting paralleled the development of my personality.  Sometimes it’s scrawly, but for the most part I’m sort of proud of my unique hand.  I think it would be sad if kids lost that part of growing up…  But maybe it’s just me…

I thought about writing this post by hand and then scanning it in, but then I’d have to wait until tomorrow and do it from work (I don’t have a scanner at home).  So I guess I’m (unfortunately) as much a proponent as anyone of the faster-is-better argument that is helping to destroy handwriting.  Sigh.

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “Another Point for Nostalgia

  1. Look at the bright side:

    Before the Internet came along, most Americans never wrote anything, ever, that wasn’t a school assignment. Check out the results of the Stanford Study of Writing, mainly that young people today write far more than any generation before them.

    http://ssw.stanford.edu/

  2. That is a great way to look at it! Thanks!

Leave a Reply

