Unclogged

I’m a terrible blogger lately!  I’m sorry!  I’m also falling ever so slightly behind on my 52 Books project, but capable of finishing at least three books I’ve begun this weekend.  A lot is going on.  Well, really nothing has changed in any tangible way, but my little world is shifting, and not in a comfortable way.  The blog I’ve drafted again and again for the past week is basically this:  they’re offering severance packages at work, and there might be layoffs in early 2009.  Basically, you have to gamble:  take the severance and hope to find something else productive to do or stay the course (and risk a layoff with no severance).  We have until Christmas Eve to apply for the “voluntary layoff” program.  No matter what happens, things are going to change…

Anyway.  There it is.  Maybe just saying that is like unclogging a backed up drain, and things will start flowing soon.

Backed up drains…

I’m at my parents’ house for the weekend.  Sometimes when we’re all here we have drainage issues — a tree root grew into the pipe that runs from the house into the street.  It’s kind of icky when things go awry.  We bathe cautiously for a while after such an incident, slowly forget, and eventually run a load of laundry, the dishwasher, and the bath at the same time and wreak havoc once again…

Last weekend I stopped by Pablo’s Coffee on 6th Avenue, and they had the loveliest artwork up — sort of Joseph Cornell-like box constructions.  I fell in love.  The coffee was good, too.  It would not be wise to spend a couple hundred dollars on one of these right now; at the very least I will visit them again.

I just saw Rachael Ray get taken out in a David Letterman spoof.  Happy Thanksgiving, everyone.

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “Unclogged

  1. Oh man! I can’t believe that they are laying people off there! Maybe they should stop coating all of the parking garages in copper…

Leave a Reply

