Simple, Declarative

Lately writing (since it obviously hasn’t been here): a paper for my abnormal psychology class on the mother character in When We Were Romans by Matthew Kneale. Lately reading Haruki Murakami’s Kafka on the Shore, plus a bit of Jhumpa Lahiri’s Unaccustomed Earth and Oliver Sacks’s An Anthropologist on Mars.  This weekend I saw my first Chaplin film (that I can remember).  With live music.  By the Colorado Symphony Orchestra.  With a very nice young man, even.  Also: visited the DAM for the first time in quite a while, and was surprised at how much they’d rotated the collection!  I missed seeing a few of my old favorites, but saw a lot of new stuff.  Both the Richter and the Blumenschein shows were worth seeing.  I thought I was going to see Gerhard Richter, though, not Daniel Richter, but it all turned out just fine.

The most beautiful thing I’ve seen lately (not in person, sadly) is a ceramic sculpture by Justin Novak.

disfig25w

To see his work, click his name above, and go to Gallery — this is one of his Disfigurines.  They’re gorgeous.  This particular work reminds me of Doubting Thomas (this version is by Caravaggio):

doubting_thomas-400

…Anyway, that’s pretty much what I’ve been up to, not counting a baby shower (and my first, sort of terrifying and maybe last, purchase of diapers, which were deemed by two separate people (coworker and hair dresser) to be the “most surely useful gift”).  It was great, as always, to see the mother-to-be.

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “Simple, Declarative

  1. Reading Oliver Sack’s, I like him. Do you?

  2. So far I really do! Do you have a favorite?

Leave a Reply

