Lovely Locks

Sometimes my job gets a little monotonous. The content itself is interesting, or has potential to be interesting, but really some days I just feel like I’m entering data — title, date, materials, dimensions, subjects, etc., etc., etc. New artist in the database? Check a few reliable sources for correct information (preferred name, life dates, etc.), and tab through the form entering it all in. I’m crazy fast at this. But it’s not the most stimulating thing I’ve ever done.

Sometimes, like when I get a big batch of purchased images in, I spend two full days just entering artist information into the database. I find myself calculating how old everyone was when they died. Morbid, I know.

Today I struggled through a pile of German postcards. I took some German in college. It doesn’t help me figure out what nilschlamm malerei is. (But it’s pretty much a wall painting, in case you’re curious). Sometimes the translation is tedious, often it is fun. Today I kind of had a tedious blast (if that is possible).

And I found (and cataloged the image of) this lovely lady:

This is Hans Multscher’s sculpture depicting the Assumption of Mary Magdalene from 15th century Germany. Yes, that sure is hair all over her body. Mary Magdalene was known for her long hair. She is even the patron saint of hairdressers (among other things), but if I were a hairdresser, I don’t think I’d be pinning this image up all over my shop. Note the creepy angels running their fingers through her locks. And especially note the angel(?) on whom she’s standing.

Anyway — I thought it was fantastic, and maybe some of you will find it inspirational with Halloween approaching and all.

5 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

5 responses to “Lovely Locks

  1. I love Mary Magdalene. I like to call her Hairy Mary.

  2. Holy crap. I’m a bit creeped out by the ‘caressing hair’ thing. Although I guess it could be worse…

    Thank you for sharing. 😀

  3. I wonder if my mom got taunted with ‘Hairy Mary’ now…hehee. Oye. That would suck. Her birthday is coming up so I’ll try to refrain from accidentally taunting her with that little gem.

    🙂

  4. Lindsey

    I don’t think it’s morbid at all. I’m also obsessed with age: when I admit someone to labor and delivery, I always ruminate over how old the mom is and what number of baby it is for them. My record is a 21 year old with 5 pregnancies and 6 kids (one set of twins). :-).

  5. Now we finally see the inspiration for the Wookies and Chewbacca.

Leave a Reply

