Get Cultured, Save Money

The Denver Botanic Gardens and the Denver Zoo have free admission today, thanks to SCFD!  The weather is beautiful!  Get out and enjoy the flora and fauna!

Additionally, how is it that I’ve lived here for nine years (albeit not always as a student), and never knew that students could get into the Colorado Symphony Orchestra for $5?  I’m not sure!  It’s almost worth always taking a class to get that discount (last night my ticket was 93% off…)

Speaking of classes:  I started the semester with two, but promptly dropped one because it didn’t seem worthwhile (sadly).  I’m loving the one I’m still in, though — Abnormal Psychology.  Our “big” project is a paper on a character from a book or a movie who has a disorder.  We have to diagnose them and determine treatment.  I think I’m going to use the mother character in a book I just read, Matthew Kneale’s When We Were Romans, who I believe has bipolar disorder with psychotic features.  I don’t know if I’ve ever been so excited to write a paper.  Rather than procrastinating, I’m making myself hold off a few weeks so I don’t end up being *that* non-traditional student who gloats to her classmates about how on top of things she is.  Oh, but I am on top of things…

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

