Misc.

1.) I’m excited about Karen O.’s (of the Yeah Yeah Yeahs) new solo project, Native Korean Rock.

2.) I’m also excited about trying out a new toy: Mint.com. I’ve used Microsoft Money for several years now, but my online services are about to expire, and I don’t really feel like paying them anymore. I’m a little hesitant to give Mint.com any account information, but I figure it can’t be much (if at all) worse than giving it to Microsoft, right? Still have to think about it a little more, and do some research.

3.) At work these days we are a well-oiled machine. It’s really beautiful at the end of summer, when things start falling into place… I should revel in it, because it’ll be over in two weeks or so…

4.) I’m loving this blog I just discovered: Mix Tape Therapy. It’s part advice site, part music site, and pretty funny, too. Today’s post reminds me of a friend. Her name might start with an E.

5.) I did not finish one single book last week, but I’m in the middle of a few. I’m taking two classes this fall, and those both started — I’m going to count any book I read in its entirety for this project, and I’ve started on three course-related books, but won’t finish them until later in the fall. I am also halfway through this book Pretty Little Mistakes: A Do-Over Novel by Heather McElhatton. I kind of hate it, but I’m kind of addicted to it. It’s a choose-your-own-adventure novel for adults. There are something like 150 possible endings in a mere 500 pages, so you’re constantly coming to an end, then backtracking to see what “could have been” had you chosen differently (check out the great visual depiction here). I am so Type A about it that I’ve created a grid so I can make sure I read every possible scenario. I’m about halfway through. I’m just a little bored (because of the teeny tiny plots and the lack of depth that you’d expect from a “novel” that ends every few pages), but persevering! I think McElhatton’s copy editor got kind of bored, too, as there are some pretty little grammatical mistakes, like “all-to-well” and “affect” instead of “effect.” But in spite of those, Ms. McElhatton has apparently been commissioned to write the companion to Chad Kultgen’s Average American Male, which I hear is quite entertaining (but refuse to read because I’m kind of fed up with Average American Males in general (no offense, boys)).

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

