Chain!

Maria has tagged me in a chain blog (you should check out her blog, too — she finds something beautiful and happy about every single day, and is fantastic!)! I didn’t have time/energy to respond last night, as I’ve spent a couple of days in Boulder at a conference (I presented! It was good!). But here we go:

What was I doing 10 years ago?
In August 1998, I was getting ready to start my senior year of high school. For the sake of accuracy, I consulted my diary (I was a most excellent diarist from about 1993-1999), and it seems I was house-sitting for a neighbor whose dog liked to escape from their hedged yard, working two restaurant jobs, and being annoyed by my nine-year-old brother. At my waitressing job I made $10 in tips on August 13, but that seemed okay because I only worked two hours at one job (the pizza buffet job), and the other restaurant was closed that night for some reason (unspecified in that particular entry). Wow, it’s a good thing I wrote all of that down then – I knew I’d need this information at some point, but I thought it would be needed for, you know, a biographer, not a chain letter. Anyway. For reference: tonight I spent a lot more than $10 on: textbooks ($stupid amount), a bathing suit ($more than I’d hoped to spend), dinner ($7), and drinks ($12) (NOTE: I heart, Heart, HEART d’Corazon for its cheap food and cheaper margaritas!!!!). Also for reference: there is no bathing suit that makes your cellulite look better. I’m sure I had less cellulite 10 years ago. Anyway, back to the chain:

What are five non-work things on my to-do list today?
I’m choosing tomorrow, since today is pretty much done.

  • Hang out with my sister, who’s in town!
  • Dishes. Seriously.
  • Read 50 pages of Jung’s Modern Man in Search of a Soul
  • Abnormal Psychology class after work (and reading for it)
  • Catch up on a ridiculous number of Google Reader posts (461 as of right now; more by morning, I’m sure)

Snacks I enjoy:
Salty things. Especially if they involve frying and potatoes. Chips and salsa. Also, rice crackers and tahini or baba ganoush.

Things I would do if I were a billionaire.
Pay off remaining debt, buy a nice, small house or loft in the center of the city (or a city) with good, natural lighting and potential for a library loft like this, great furniture, and amazing art. I would probably go to school some more. I’d travel, and I’d specifically want to go to the places that have helped make the people I admire who they are, like West Africa with Barrett and India with Kavi, among others. A trip for every friend, however near or far. I’d help my parents retire if they ever decided to because they’ve encouraged me so much. I’d probably donate a lot, but I’m not really sure to what right now…

Places I have lived:

  • Flagstaff, AZ
  • Del Norte, CO
  • Denver, CO
  • York, UK (if six months counts)
  • Denver, CO again
  • Ft. Collins, CO (again, if six months counts)
  • Denver, CO again

Jobs I have had:
Not giving you specifics here (too Google-able), but:

  • Dishwasher at a small-town pizza restaurant
  • Waitress at a small-town pizza restaurant
  • Waitress at a smaller-town diner
  • Copy editor (I know, those skills disappear here! And I can’t remember if there’s a hyphen in that title or not)
  • Optician
  • Dormitory desk assistant
  • Lingerie store cashier (ugh, worst job ever!)
  • Museum intern, educational programs assistant
  • Freelance researcher
  • Honors program assistant
  • Research/program assistant for some education professors
  • Sorority house “mom”
  • Assistant slide librarian
  • Reference desk assistant
  • Visual media center director

Wow! That’s a lot, huh? It starts c. 1995, though, and several of the jobs were concurrent…

I’m supposed to tag five more people so that Bad Things don’t happen. But I’m not going to: feel free to answer if you’re inclined, though!

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “Chain!

  1. Wow, you are so lucky that you kept your diaries. I burned several of mine in a tearful teenage rage.

    Also, that library loft is AWESOME!

Leave a Reply

