Project: 52 Books in 52 Weeks

Disclaimer: This was not an original idea by any means, but inspired by the following:

  • first and foremost, a friend who did this last year and my admiration of her quest,
  • the sad fact that it took me nearly three months to finish Anna Karenina,
  • and the overwhelming sense that there are so many good books out there, and life is so short, and there are ever more good books, and this is my way of making a dent in them.

Last month was kind of a trial to see if I had it in me; I think I do. It’s the first day of the seventh week, and I just finished my 9th book. There is a chance that I’ll get busy or bored and fail to do this. I might start to hate the written word, or my eyes might deteriorate. If I become too hermitous in this project, I will abandon it. If at any point I give up something like eating or showering in order to keep up, I will know that I’ve taken it too far. But if I fail and read, say, only 40 books between July 1, 2008 and June 30, 2009, I think that would be great. Anyway. I’m publishing a Google spreadsheet that will be updated with what I’ve read and what I’m currently reading. I love Google Documents, by the way..

Note: I didn’t really give Simone de Beauvoir much of a shot last week. Instead I read Halldor Laxness’s Independent People, which is a book about Iceland around the turn of the century or so, and which has a lot of parallels to our own time (like the mortgage problem, strangely, among others). It makes Iceland out to be a harsh and kind of miserable place, which is a little disheartening, but I still want to go at some point. And speaking of Google applications I love, I was alarmed to find that Google Maps doesn’t have any street or town information on Iceland whatsoever! Not even Reykjavik is marked! So Google, if you’re listening and need some on-site (in-Iceland) assistance with this, I am a fast learner and interested in offering my assistance…

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “Project: 52 Books in 52 Weeks

  1. melissa

    I’m so glad you’re giving this a try! I’m envious, actually, of all the reading you’ll be doing. (I miss those days.) And I’m grateful you’re publishing your spreadsheet. (You can help direct my severely diminished reading.)

    I think your caveats are very wise, though I found that though I was definitely more hermitous, I had more to talk about when I did go out.

    Good luck!

  2. Thank you for the inspiration, and for sharing your own spreadsheet with me!

Leave a Reply

