Some (Insignificant) Dreams Really Do Come True

Early this morning I advised Christopher, who’s staying on my couch of late due to recent deluge in his apartment, not to wear Crocs to work (or anywhere, ever, but that’s a losing battle).  Fourteen hours later, I found myself at Walgreens deciding between the pink and orange Hawaiian Tropic flip-flops and the pink and blue Miller Lite flip-flops.

How did it come to this?  (And since when are flip-flops an appropriate venue for advertising?)

My trusty flip-flops of the spring of 2006, after three good summers of wear (not to mention springs and falls), broke.  The weirder thing: even though they showed no signs of weakness, I had a dream of these very shoes breaking a couple nights ago.  And the weirdest thing:  when it happened, I was getting out of my car at Tattered Cover, heading in to buy a couple of books on dream interpretation (textbooks for a class I think I’m going to take this fall).

Anyway, before limping stupidly or walking barefoot through the bookstore, I went to Walgreens.  I was pleased when the $4.99 Miller Lite flip flops ended up costing a mere $1.87, but I’m still pretty sad about the beloved old pair…

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “Some (Insignificant) Dreams Really Do Come True

  1. I love that! I can’t tell you how many times I’ve had experiences like that. Sorry about your flips.

  2. Pingback: List of Incoherence « distillation

Leave a Reply

