This Sunday Only!

If you haven’t already, you should see the Gee’s Bend exhibit at the Denver Art Museum.  I was late getting to it, though, and unfortunately it closes tomorrow, so you must, must hurry.  The museum is open 12-5 on Sundays.  What I liked about this exhibit:  The quilts, the slight asymmetry of them, the colors, the patterns, the abstraction, the lived-in-ness.  Wow.  Wow, wow, wow.  I’m sorry this is late, but if you can, go tomorrow!  The Amish/Mennonite quilt exhibit was nice, but has nothing on Gee’s Bend. Beauty is in the imperfection, I think.  I sometimes felt like I was looking at a fabric Agnes Martin.  Lovely.  See it.

Things said in the past couple of days:

1.) “How happy are we to not be working at the mall?” (me reminiscing with the friend who once brought home-made minute rice with tomato soup to work in tupperware, which we warmed up at his work and then ate at the mall movie theater as we watched The Hours one winter night, long ago (ohh, winter 2002…).  Oh, the mall jobs…  Oh, the minute-rice…  Oh, the days of actual tight budgets (not that they’re not still tight, but holy shit, how did we even live off of that?).

2.) A dialogue (or a trialogue):

Paul: If you had a superhuman power, what would it be?

Me (not missing a beat): An unbreakable heart.

Paul:  Really?  I would want to be able to make people shit themselves.

Kris (who is a good, good person, better than me and Paul): I would heal people of their physical and mental illnesses.

Yes, a broken heart makes you (well, me) pretty self-centered.  Sorry, world.

Today I’m 27.  27 = 3^3.  You were 1^1, and 2^2, but you’ll probably never be 4^4, so let’s call it a special year, shall we?

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “This Sunday Only!

  1. smnd

    Happy more than slightly belated birthday! Maybe we can do a bit of post birthday celebrating on some unparticular unbirthday in the near future!

Leave a Reply

