Phantom Ponytail

There is no ponytail!  But I can’t get over how weird it feels to run my fingers through my hair, and have there be so, so little of it.  The weirdest is in the shower.  I probably cut at least two thirds of my hair off, and I’m having trouble adjusting to how little product I now need.  It’s weird.  It’s fun.  I like it.

It can be straight:

and also curly.  I’ll show you a picture of curly once I have a good one.  Curly is going to take some getting used to.  I like it, but I feel like my silhouette is a little mushroom-y.  BUT (oh my god), it’s seriously wash-and-go.  And it doesn’t take a freaking day to dry, either.  I have a little trouble fixing the hair in the back, but I’ll just pretend no one notices.  And learn.  It feels good and new and exciting.

Here’s the ponytail.  Just a warning:  dismembered ponytails are a little creepy:

It is about 14 inches long.  It didn’t always look this good when it was attached to my head.  I don’t really miss it.

I had figured out where I was going to donate the hair — I was thinking Pantene’s Beautiful Lengths program because they give their wigs to women of all ages, not just kids.  But then I started to think too much about it…  This program is obviously a public relations thing a corporation is doing (with Oprah’s blessing)…  Which is fine, but wouldn’t I rather give to a non-profit organization?  And then I thought about some information I got on a non-profit (having nothing to do with hair) recently, where top salaries are well (very well) into the $200,000s.  I don’t want my hair to go to something like that.  So now I’m pulling up all of the companies’ tax returns (you can do this for free!!), and just checking them out a bit.

Really I think this is about stupidly getting attached to my dismembered ponytail.  It’s kind of like losing a tooth when you were a kid, only there’s no ponytail fairy to exchange it for something a little more…  useful (and less gross).  Then I started thinking about how people used to really value the hair of loved ones — they’d keep locks of it tucked away in lockets, make jewelry out of it, etc., etc.  Basically, this means I really, really need to get rid of this ponytail fast, before it’s too late and I become too eccentric for my own good.

5 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

5 responses to “Phantom Ponytail

  1. Lindsey

    I like it! I bet it looks great curly, too! 🙂

  2. jfochek

    Love, love, love it! Will you let me play with it (the new ‘do, of course, not the phantom ponytail) when we move up there? Pretty please? 🙂

  3. Excellent…I really like it. Grats on taking the plunge.

    Hannah

  4. Well, I know people actually pay money for hair. They makes wigs too…not just weirdo’s who buy hair. So, you could sell your hair and then give the money to the charity of your choice.

    Your new ‘do looks so great! I can’t wait to see the frontal view!

  5. Whoa!

    Did you consider Locks Of Love?

Leave a Reply

