Dragons, Doorstops, Disappointments

1.) It is a shitty, shitty week.

2.) One of the shittiest I’ve had in a long time. But not on all counts. I’ve been eating well, cooking for myself, and haven’t had a single morning coffee since Sunday. I’m rediscovering my love of smoothies. This one was too viscous (I was out of fresh fruit and used frozen, and then I was also low on almond milk, so it turned out to be an icy-peachy glob of stuff):

It was good in spite of its viscosity.

3.) I am going to lose several inches of this ratty mess tomorrow:

Enough to donate! I wish it would be curly at the top, too, or even straight, but instead it is a hopeless, must-style mixture of both and neither. This is partly because of gravity, and partly because it wants to be difficult. It’s like in this Edward Monkton card:

This card was made for me. I am that girl. Only with a lot more dragon hairs.

4.) I signed up to take a ceramics class — intro to wheel throwing. I took a general ceramics course a few years ago (wow, four years!!), and really loved, it, but didn’t really love the trip to Arvada every week. This class is seriously a block from my apartment, and I can use the studio whenever classes aren’t in session.

5.) I got my Eames stamps! The postman was so excited that someone had asked for them (apparently I was the first, even though they’ve been out for a week), that he leaned over to his co-worker and said, “Hey, Jim, did you hear what she asked for? She wants the Eames stamps!” I totally brightened his day, and he brightened mine (and then it completely and majorly and irrevocably clouded over a few hours later, a clouding over that will probably last several weeks, maybe longer, but at least there was that moment in the post office, right? More about this clouding over at some point, maybe. Suffice it to say I’m on my own again. It wasn’t exactly out of nowhere, but I didn’t really expect it. And in the middle of it all, some asshole hit my (parked) car, but I’m not even dealing with that…)

6.) The Thing Quarterly, Issue 2 arrived today (several months late!), and I love it! It was designed by Anne Walsh, and is well worth the wait. As promised, it is a household object that incorporates text. I’m going to ruin the surprise now, so if you don’t want me to, stop reading right here! Otherwise, onward —–>

*
*
*
*
*
*
*
*
*
*
*
*
*
*
*
*
*
*
*
*
*
*
*
*
*
*

Hopefully you can read that — I have my doubts, though. The text is a letter from a young girl to Billie Jean King admiring her and thanking her for winning a tennis match against male player Bobby Riggs, and in doing so fighting the fight for women’s lib. If you’re interested, there’s a nice biography of her here.
And the object is, at its simplest, a doorstop, but the label from The Thing’s editors gives a whole list of other things this Thing is, including: a way to secure things, a way to apologize, a gauge of equality, a gauge of reality… etc. You should be able to click on that picture for a slightly larger view.

So. That’s all for now.

3 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

3 responses to “Dragons, Doorstops, Disappointments

  1. Hi Miss Sweet Thang,

    I’m sorry about your crummy week. Ugh. I wish I could douse the week over with happy water and make it nicer for you.

    That “thing” is very nice. Very exciting.

    By the way, your hair looks just lovely in that picture. Yes, I know you’re getting rid of it, but I thought I’d say that anyway. It’s so goddess-like or something.

    I’ve had some weird smoothees, too. I tend to concoct some pretty funky messes at times. Pele drinks some of them…hehhee.

    Many HUGS galore,

    Hannah

    p.s. I was thinking of sending you an e-mail tarot reading as a b-day present if you wanted one. I saw that you were getting one from a lady (via your blog). Anyway let me know.

  2. p.s.

    I wish you were here to share this gluten-free, dairy-free chocolate cake with me. It is DIVINE. I am seriously regretting making it because I want to eat it every second of every day, especially when stress hits. HEHE.

    You should really check it out. It’s Sylvan Border Farms Chocolate Cake Mix (with Pamela’s Dark Chocolate Frosting Mix). The only alteration I made to the cake was adding hot coffee instead of hot water. I’ve made gluten-free cakes from scratch before and tried many mixes, but this is probably the best. Just a little hint if you’re looking for something birthday-wise.

  3. I want to be a dragon too. My bowling name is Dragonslayer, I even wrote a song about it.

Leave a Reply

