Where’s my Tea?

I think I’ll be a happier, healthier, wealthier person if I can manage to kick my morning Americano habit.  $2.38/day * 7 (yeah, 7) days a week * 52 weeks a year = $866.32.  Not including the change I reserve for tips.  That’s too much.  I’m embarrassed by it, and I’m not quite sure how it came to this.  Please don’t judge me.

Tea will be cheaper.  Even though I have pretty expensive taste in tea, it goes a long way…  Really, anything I make for myself will be considerably cheaper.  I think I’m going to start this week, too.  I’m not going to put myself through the misery of quitting caffeine altogether because, frankly, I like caffeinated beverages (espresso, green tea), and I don’t like their decaffeinated counterparts.  If, eventually, I didn’t need it every day though, that would be good.

Anyway, today I was at the Whole Foods on First and University, looking for my favorite tea — jasmine pearl (I know, it’s kind of fake sissy tea, but I love it).  They didn’t have it anywhere.  They have tea in three different places, too — there is a section for herbal teas that are marketed medicinally, a section for standard teas (in bags and loose-leaf, but packaged nonetheless), and, a whole new section, underneath the bulk coffee, for bulk loose-leaf teas.  I swear every time I go into that store, they’ve moved my tea somewhere.  And today, very sadly, they didn’t have it at all.

BUT they did have my soap: Sappo Hill’s fragrance-free oatmeal soap.  Another Whole Foods had said earlier this week that the store stopped carrying it because of some color ingredient.  Strangely, this soap is also color-free, so I think maybe they were just out of it?  Anyway, I left the store half-happy, which is fine, and saved money by ordering the tea online anyway.

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “Where’s my Tea?

  1. strider

    I love tea! I recommend Rishi’s Green Tea Mint Are you good at going cold turkey on habits? You could try making the Americano outing a once-a-week-on-my-favorite-day-of-the-week thing. May make it more special and celebratory and easier to give up the rest of the time.

Leave a Reply

