Simple Things That Are Exceedingly Beautiful, Volume II

Cassette tapes taking on new life along highway shoulders. Probably discarded because of malfunction or outdatedness, the cases eventually shatter, and the magnetic tape shimmers for miles. This used to happen more — you hardly even see it now. And yes, it’s litter, but I think it’s beautiful litter. I wonder if you could wind the tape back up again and hear the tape’s story in the garbled rock and roll song. I wonder if you would get the Rolling Stones or Madonna or Randy Travis, and I wonder who owned them previously, and what their thoughts were as they listened to those songs off of that tape.

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “Simple Things That Are Exceedingly Beautiful, Volume II

  1. Oh yes! I couldn’t agree more. I always want to grab roadside tapes and play them. I wonder if they were someone’s lovingly made mixed tape, discarded after a break up. Yes! More please…

  2. I’ve never seen rejected tapes–odd.

    I have tons of tapes. I still love tapes even though the only place I can play them now is in my art area on my ‘boom box’.

    XOXO,
    H

Leave a Reply

