You Stay Classy, San Diego

What I’ve seen of San Diego is pretty nice. And what I’ve seen of San Diego so far is the inside of a really nice hotel, probably the nicest I’ve ever been in. It almost makes me feel guilty, as I’m not paying for it. Also, I usually have a roommate, but the woman I’d planned to share with couldn’t come, and I asked a couple other people if they still needed a roommate, but they didn’t, and, frankly, I’m tired of sharing hotel rooms with strangers (from the conference, so not complete strangers, but strangers nonetheless). Not that the strangers I’ve stayed with in the past weren’t lovely, but every time I’ve walked out of the bathroom immodestly, spread my stuff all over the counter, and clacked away on my computer without feeling weird about it, I’ve been pretty glad not to be rooming with anyone. Also, it says on our human resources website at work that employees are “entitled” to their own room. So no guilt! (If only it were that easy! The room costs approximately 1/2 my rent for each night!!).

All of that aside, this conference is perfectly timed, I think. As you’ve probably noted, I’ve been a little less than enthusiastic about work lately, feeling a little stuck, a little unmotivated, just pushing through the orders. Talking to other people in the field, seeing what they’re doing and how they did it, I’m inspired again. I’m inspired to take the whole database, field by field, and fix it. I want to make date searching work in some capacity. I want real subject fields. I want tagging. I really want tagging, and I think I can make the case for it. Most of all, I want to follow a Google model of work, where I spend 10-20% of my time either fixing things I know need fixed but I never have time to get to or working on creative new projects. I honestly think that it won’t change my production considerably because it might eliminate my states of extreme, molasses-paced boredom. I’d like to give it a shot, anyway.

Also: there are a bunch of people from Colorado here, and I only get to see them once a year or so, in a city far away, even though they all live within a couple hours of me (we also let the Wyoming woman hang out with us, because she’s awesome). I love these people. I think seeing them more often (maybe forming a chapter of our organization, or maybe just hanging out) would be great.

Anyway, I should go so I can eat something before the session entitled, “Shark Suspended in Formaldehyde: Open Forum on Documenting Contemporary Art.”  Actually, now that I’ve written that, I think maybe I should wait until after the session to eat (the shark/formaldehyde piece isn’t the grossest I’ve seen).

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “You Stay Classy, San Diego

  1. You deserve a little luxury, I think. 🙂 Enjoy your time in San Diego!

Leave a Reply

