Sleek to Slow

My job is so ridiculously mind-numbing right now. I ran into an old professor yesterday, and for some reason talking to him really drove that fact home. I’m doing so little with my mind these days.

But I’m getting a paycheck, right? Which is good, right? I spent part (and not even that much) of this month’s money on the sleekest little thing:

Little Disk

It’s a LaCie Little Disk, and that little USB cord retracts. It even comes with a velvety pouch. I have been eying these for a while, but am finally going ahead with my purchase because I have to send my computer away for a little while and I don’t want to lose anything. Anyway, it’s even cuter than I had expected.

Also today, the New York Times‘ Home and Garden section carried a couple of really great articles. The first is on Dutch landscape designer Piet Ouldolf, who designs gardens in such a way that they look beautiful alive and dying. One of my absolute favorite images in the world, ever, is a stark, deciduous tree in winter against the sky, and I think I could fall in love with Mr. Ouldolf’s designs. He says, “You accept death. You don’t take the plants out, because they still look good. And brown is also a color.”

Oudolf

Indeed it is.

Next up, an article on “slow life,” a movement that started with “slow food,” but permeated into other parts of our lives. This has interested me for a while — it’s about buying locally-made products and knowing where things come from. A while back I wrote a post about a lot of things, one of which was the idea that things themselves carry with them little parts of the people whose hands they pass through. If you take that philosophy and apply it to manufactured goods, or to the food you eat, it’s mind-boggling. But I think in a good way. Who made the shirt I’m wearing? Where did the cotton come from? I like to think that if you know and approve of the origins of everything you buy, you’re making the world a little bit better. And that’s what the Slow Life is about. The article mentions a woman who makes blanket using wool from sheep she’s met. And a clock that measures time in five-minute increments by dropping beads — how different would the world seem to you if each hour was divided into 12 five-minute increments instead of 60 one-minute portions? I don’t know that I could actually live a slow life (I type on my Japanese computer, which will be sent to Texas soon for repairs, drinking a glass of wine from California, wearing a shirt made in China), but it would be a nice thing to strive for.

Slow Clock

Anyway, I thought I’d share. I need to eat more vegetables. And fried potatoes (in chip, fry, and hashbrown form) don’t count…

3 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

3 responses to “Sleek to Slow

  1. Leslie,

    I feel like you do so much with your mind on a daily basis that if we were to compare our recently learned items and the effort with which we sought them out it would be like comparing Socrates and a Neanderthal.

    Add to that the fact that you’re actually getting down on yourself because work’s a little boring and I feel like a complete tard. You post so much interesting stuff on your blog that it actually makes me tired.

    Ever have trouble falling asleep? You should hang out with my wife and you two could over think things together.

    In my humble opinion you should be proud of yourself for sharing so much with the world (and I’m sure there’s much more that you just don’t have time to share).

    Alright, I better get started on chipping that wheel out of stone now so I can get home.

  2. PS – I meant to tell you weeks ago and make a comment on your post requesting new music but Nicole and I discovered a local artist named Ian Cooke (myspace.com/iancooke) and I think you might find him interesting.

    He’s got a show coming up so let me know if you might like to go.

  3. It’s not necessarily that I don’t have time to share things, it’s that I don’t feel like I can. When you don’t know your audience, really, or when you know just a little bit, you can only pour so much of your heart out.

    I do like Ian Cooke! I haven’t seen him live, but I’ve heard several of his songs, and I like what I’ve heard… I’m up for a show!

Leave a Reply

