It’s Time…

I like cooking, but I wouldn’t say I’m good at it, and I would certainly say I’m a little bit petrified to do it for people I don’t know very well.  Sure, I have a few staples I can make (I lost a lot of those staples when I stopped eating gluten and couldn’t rely on pasta), but I don’t really cook meat, and haven’t moved much beyond the one-dish meal (cooking for others and in general).

This will all change soon.  Well, not all.  But it’s my turn to host a dinner for a group I’ve been meeting with once a month, and the bar has been set pretty high.  I’ve decided to forgo meat — I don’t have any practice, and I think it’s kind of gross to cook (though I do eat it).  I think I’m going to make spicy vegetarian chili, which I’ve made before and really liked.  It will be preceded by something similar to the polenta squares with Mediterranean toppings my mom made for Christmas Eve.  And for dessert (this is the one that will really take some practice), I want to make a fennel sorbet with lemon and/or pear, assuming I can figure out how to do this without an ice cream maker…  I think I can figure it out.  Anyway, I have a few weeks to practice…  It will be vegan- and vegetarian-friendly, gluten- and dairy-free…

3 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

3 responses to “It’s Time…

  1. Good luck! Vegetarian is OK in my book.

  2. Lindsey

    I think your dinner will be lovely. The last time I made chili for a crowd (2 crock pots full!), people did everything but lick the bottom of the pot. I’m sure your spicy vegetarian chili will be a hit.

  3. jfochek

    How exciting! You’ll have to let me know how your pre-party experiments go. If the fennel sorbet fails you, I do have a recipe for red wine sorbet (with pear AND lemon!) – just let me know if you’re interested.

Leave a Reply

