A Little Starstruck

Gluten-Free Girl

Ooh — I can hardly wait!  Erica just reminded me that Shauna James Ahern, also known as Gluten-Free Girl, will be at the Tattered Cover on Sunday to discuss and sign her book.  Shauna’s was one of the first blogs I started reading regularly — it is about food and about life, about eating good food and not seeing the gluten-free diet as limiting.  It’s about what we can eat, and she makes it look so, so good.  The photographs are amazing, her writing is incredible, and I just find this woman (and her “yes!” philosophy) so inspiring.  I’m so looking forward to meeting her.

3 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

3 responses to “A Little Starstruck

  1. …Make that Monday! And she’ll be at the Whole Foods at Belmar giving a cooking class on Saturday… After I learned this morning that my local Wild Oats will be opening an hour later and closing an hour earlier (because Whole Foods bought them, I’m sure), I’m considering a little boycott, but may have to reconsider just this once…

  2. OOoh cool.

    I’m jealous! I would go but it wouldn’t work out for me time-wise or Pele-wise, but I will vicariously enjoy whatever you do.

    I’ve been enjoying her blog, too.

    Right now I’m eating a small gluten-free cinnamon yeast bun that I made the other day.

    😀

  3. p.s.

    Yeah, I’m annoyed about the Whole Foods/Wild Oats thing, too. ESPECIALLY considering…I was born and raised in Austin where my mom frequently took us to health food stores (which included the original Whole Foods) and it bothers me that it’s turning into this mega-mart thing. However…I guess it’s better than nothing.

    For that reason I like to shop at Vitamin Cottage as well, which is Colorado owned. I think there are a couple in Denver. The selection is still really good and it’s easier to stomach (oh and less chaotic as Whole Foods can be sometimes).

    Your Uncle,

    Hannah

Leave a Reply

