Best of 2007 – c.go Edition

Christopher’s list came in with the disclaimer that the songs on his list were not necessarily released this year, but were “new to him” in 2007. Also, he notes that, “I felt compelled to list everything that was compelling to me.” So here they are, ranked and all!

1. “No Bad News” by Patty Griffin (I have to note that this one is on my own Top of 2007 list — I’ve had the privilege of seeing it live twice, and it’s incredible. Every time I hear it on KCUV, I call and thank them. I would also like to note that if I can ever dance like / look like / sing like Ms. Griffin’s backup vocalist, I’ll be a pretty happy woman).

2. “Rain” by Patty Griffin

3. “Work That” by Mary J. Blige

4. “Mi Confesion” by Gotan Project

5. “Only Up Or Down” by Patty Griffin (not the best video, but it’s a good song…)

6. “We’ll Meet Along The Way” by Hem (listen here)

hem

7. “Hey Eugene” by Pink Martini

8. “Rehab” by Amy Winehouse

9. “No One” by Alicia Keys

10. Untitled (Track 4) by Sigur Ros

11. “I Don’t Wanna Waste Your Time” by Over The Rhine

12. “He Came To Meet Me” by Hem (listen here)

hem

13. “Appalachia Waltz & First Impressions” by Yo-Yo Ma, Edgar Meyer, Mark O’Connor (find it here)

appalachia

14. “If A Song Could Be President” by Over The Rhine (find the video here)

over

15. “Falling Slowly” by Glen Hansard and Markéta Irglová

16. “World Outside” by The Devlins (listen here)

world outside

17. “Origin of Love” by Hedwig and the Angry Inch (a classic…)

18. “Housewife” by Jay Brannan

19. “Romeo + Juliet” by The Killers (if I had a list of top cover songs of the year, this would for sure be on it… Love this song…)

20. “The Part Where You Let Go” by Hem (click to listen)

hem 2

Plus (unranked, late addition): “Clementine” by Pink Martini (listen here)

clementine

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

