Things that Would Happen While You’re on a Juice Fast

A few years ago my friend worked for a market research company, and she hooked me up with $75 for participating in a little study about low-carb beer (not my thing, but did I get the $75? Yes). I’d kind of forgotten about it, until today when someone from the firm (or whatever firm recently acquired it) called again and asked if I’d be willing to do a tasting with them tomorrow for an hour and a half in return for $85. Being on the liquids-only portion of the cleanse, I had to decline. It probably would have been some cheesy, wheaty thing I couldn’t eat anyway, but it makes me a little sad that I just passed up $85 in return for my two cents. Then she asked me a bunch of questions, and I answered honestly, but in ways that probably preclude me from getting a call back. No cable, no kids, no pets, no beer, etc., etc., etc. I do drink wine, and I do buy organic food (they didn’t ask if I ate it, incidentally), so maybe I’ll get a call for a wine or organic food study.

Anyway, the cleanse is going well, but it’s hard to stay warm. And hard to like vegetable broth. I wouldn’t say I’m full, but I’m drinking enough juice and broth so I’m not hungry. I’m craving stupid things for stupid reasons. Example: On Tuesday I was on a bus, and it stopped by an Arby’s with its door open for quite a while. I started craving an Arby’s roast beef sandwich, which is disgusting. Seriously. Soda sounds awful, though — I’d much prefer a nice cup of coffee (which I crave, but in sort of a warm, comforting way, not in an I-need-it-now-give-it-to-me way). And meat sounds really good (sorry, vegans). Also: warm Mexican food — maybe posole or something like that… But for the next few days I’m taking it easy with my vegetable juices and broths, which aren’t so bad…

4 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

4 responses to “Things that Would Happen While You’re on a Juice Fast

  1. Lindsey

    Kudos to you for not giving in to the Arby’s craving. I definately gave in to my Arby’s craving yesterday and ate the Super Roast Beef Sandwich and large curly fries. I should not be allowed to talk to people about making healthier choices regarding their diets. Good luck on the rest of your cleanse. You’re doing great!

  2. Its a rough time to be having so much cold. Good luck to you!

  3. Kris

    I give in to my Arby’s cravings all the time. I have no idea what’s going on with wanting Arby’s so often. I always think about that Simpsons episode where one of the twins says “I’m so hungry I could eat Arby’s!” There was also another snide remark in a newer episode but I can’t remember it. Simpsons writers must really not care for Arby’s, or they love it!

    Congratulations on your cleanse by the way!

Leave a Reply

