Pre-Cleanse Post

I’m going to start this cleanse tomorrow, and I sort of had a little freak out about it tonight. The first time I did it, it was this whole organized thing with a naturopath, and she gave supplements that were supposed to help get toxins out, etc. I just missed her fall cleanse, but I sent her an e-mail asking what supplements she would recommend. I was really hoping for something specific, but I got a list of ingredients instead… which is generous (I didn’t pay her), but overwhelming. So tonight I went to Vitamin Cottage, list in hand, to find the stuff. I couldn’t find anything with all of the ingredients she suggests, and everything had all of this extra stuff she didn’t mention. I am not really interested in the supplements anyway because I think they’re kind of gross… On the other hand I think they’re probably beneficial, but not if I can’t find the right ones. Some of them seemed a little intense, even dangerous, and I felt like sitting down crying in the aisle. Probably mostly because I’m feeling off and hungover today and vulnerable and thirsty and childish and because I think too much, and sometimes not nearly enough until it’s too late, if at all. Also because the packaging on the supplements tended to be very weight-oriented, and I don’t want to think about weight, but I live in this society, and therefore pretty much required to. So at that point the goal was to get out of the store without crying, cancel the cleanse, etc.

On my way out (supplement-less) I changed my mind. I’m going to do the cleanse, but I’m not going to take the supplements. And I’m setting some goals:

  • To feed my body better foods
  • To eat for nourishment (not to fill some emotional void that food only seems to fill, but never does, or to escape boredom)
  • To get back on track with some healthier habits

For the next eighteen days I won’t be eating wheat or dairy (nothing new here), refined carbohydrates, or sugar or other sweeteners. Also: I’m giving up alcohol and caffeine, the latter of which I’m a little nervous about, but prepared for the little headache and looking forward to not being dependent on it. Monday, Tuesday, and Wednesday I’ll be settling into those restrictions (kicking the caffeine especially)… Then on Thursday I start eliminating one more type of food every day through next Wednesday, at which point the “liquid phase” begins and I drink juice and broth for four days before building back up to normal (but healthier) eating. It sounds intense, and it isn’t not intense, but it’s also done very gradually and feels good. Anyway, first thing on the menu tomorrow is a protein smoothie (almond milk, protein powder, ground flax seeds, and whatever fruit I feel like buying here in a bit). Then: brown rice and steamed vegetables for lunch and vegetarian chili for dinner.

I don’t know if I have the energy for this. But I hope to have it tomorrow.

6 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

6 responses to “Pre-Cleanse Post

  1. I understand eating healthy and for nourishment. I even understand using this “cleanse” as a way to start eating healthy but I don’t understand what it’s cleansing. Is it a cleanse for the soul? The only thing I think I’d get out of starving myself is the fact that the terribly unsatisfying health food I just spent a small fortune on would taste fantastic after eating nothing but juice and chicken broth for four days.

    I’m an awful person when I’m hungry. If I joined in your cleanse I’d probably be served divorce papers.

    Good luck!

  2. Lindsey

    Good luck! I was just thinking to myself about how I admire you for having things like almond milk, ground flax seeds, protein powder, and even fruit in your cupboard. At this point, what I nourish my body with is free oatmeal with 1 pound of sugar from the doc’s lounge, whatever the drug rep brought for free for lunch, and cheese quesadillas for dinner. Don’t forget the chicken tenders dripping with grease at 1am from the cafeteria. I envy your healthfulness.

  3. Thanks for your well wishes, everyone! Dominic, to answer your question — the cleanse is supposed to clear out your digestive tract, and cleanse your body of toxins. You do this by eating certain, very healthy foods (all organic, not processed, etc.) for a period of time. The supplements are supposed to help with this, too. And the crazy thing I learned with the four liquid days last time is that it’s really not that big of a deal, and I actually didn’t feel hungry. I know this isn’t the case for everyone who’s done it, but it was for me, and I am also one of those people who gets irritable when I am hungry…

  4. sam

    All this, after making fun of me for doing a cleanse?

    Enjoy your new, interesting bowel movements.

Leave a Reply

