Saving More Daylight Than Ever Before

Bush may be blowing the national budget and increasing our deficit, but he is helping us save more daylight than ever before.  The Energy Policy Act of 2005 was signed (in 2005), and it pushes back the end of Daylight Saving Time to the first Sunday in November, rather than the last Sunday in October.  These last days of DST have always been the latest sunrises, about five to seven minutes later than sunrise on Winter Solstice (Dec. 20-ish).  In Denver this year, we won’t see sunrise until 7:31 on Saturday, November 4, which is a full fourteen minutes later than sunrise on the shortest day of the year.   If you’re interested in checking out the stats for your location, you can use this Navy website.

I know this is probably a stupid thing to complain about, but I feel like a total freak waking up pre-7:00 (as I do now, in the early stages of my “true adult” life) and looking out my window at something that could just as easily be 4 a.m.  It makes me happy to look at the clock and realize I have slept a decent number of hours, but I much prefer to wake up when it’s a little more…  sunrise-y.  Also, having spent the first half of my life in a state that shunned DST altogether (except on certain reservations), I don’t really get why we need it.  Allegedly the extra month of DST will save us money — probably because we turn our lights on just a little later at night.  But if I’m turning my lights on in the morning anyway, then does it matter?  I think not.  According to the Wikipedia article, there was a fair amount of lobby action on either side…

For:

  • Sporting Goods Manufacturers Association
  • National Association of Convenience Stores
  • the National Retinitis Pigmentosa Foundation Fighting Blindness

Against:

  • U.S. Conference of Catholic Bishops
  • United Synagogue of Conservative Judaism
  • the National Parent-Teacher Association
  • the Calendaring and Scheduling Consortium
  • the Edison Electric Institute
  • the Air Transport Association

Just so you know.  The sun just rose.

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “Saving More Daylight Than Ever Before

  1. Hooray for daylight…

    Down with darkness!

    Kidding…I think.

Leave a Reply

