Notes on Questions

There are questions that, if you ask them (even of yourself), it’s likely you already know the answer. For example (I asked myself this last week): “Is this sweater too librarian-esque for a librarian?” I’m quite certain it was. I already wear my hair in a bun occasionally. One must draw the line somewhere.

I had another example, which was, “Was I endearingly or annoyingly intoxicated?” But I don’t think I actually know the answer to that one, so I’m going to go with endearingly. Another possibility is “neither,” which I would also be fine with.

Sleeping is becoming quite the issue. I’ve lived here for 15 months without being bothered by the trains, but no longer. In addition to the trains, I think I’m waking up to other peoples’ alarms (not even in our apartment, but in other parts of the building). I think I’ve made it to my own alarm once in the past two weeks. And my alarm goes off at 6:30, so this means I’m waking up while it’s still dark. Almost. Every. Freaking. Day.

And tonight I can’t fall asleep, in spite of no caffeine after noon, yoga tonight, some kind of herbal relaxing remedy, and being really tired. Awesome.

In other news, did you know the hyphen was recently demoted as a useful tool of the English language? The Oxford English Dictionary (my favorite reference tool, most certainly) just dropped the hyphens in 16,000 words (thanks, Christopher for the tip!). Some of these words were merged into one hyphenless unit, others will now be separated by a space. Wow! Someday I want to sit in on a meeting where they’re deciding these things — bumble-bee or bumblebee? Test-tube or test tube? I love that language is ever-changing (note the hyphen there). Rules like these are simultaneously arbitrary and oh-so-important.

Related: Check out what I just bought. Illustrated, even.

3 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

3 responses to “Notes on Questions

  1. Well Bumblebee our basset hound is very offended by the hyphenated version of her name. So I think she will rest easy with this new development in the Oxford English Dictionary. It also helps me with terms such as zombie-like or flesh-eating.

  2. I didn’t realize it until now, but this is the perfect post for you! I mentioned the word Bumblebee, and if you click the link to see what I just bought, you’ll see a lovely illustration of a Bassett hound (whose name is Susan, incidentally).

  3. I did check that link earlier. It was fate I tell you, and Maria’s mothers name in Susan. There must be a glitch in the Matrix.

Leave a Reply

