More on the Postal Service

Frankly, I’m disappointed with the current selection of first-class stamps, which you can view here. The only one that I find remotely interesting is the alpine tundra design:

alpine tundra

But I find the larger-scene stamp sheets a little irritating. Stamps should be designed as what they are — tiny little things, not parts-of-the-whole. Even the USPS admits this scene is far-fetched: “The scene itself is imaginary: Such a dense grouping of plants and animals was necessary to illustrate as many species as possible on the stamp pane.” No kidding.

I think I’m just going to continue buying the $.39 Gee’s Bend Quilt Stamps:

Gee’s Bend

I think they’re really cool. Much cooler than the Louis Comfort Tiffany and/or Marvel Comics Heroes that are the best $.41 stamps in the category of art. Even if I do have to buy more of the $.02 Navajo Necklace stamps…

Yes, I put a lot of thought into these things…

Leave a comment

Filed under art

Leave a Reply

