A Day that Started with Shattered Plates

I was totally emotional and over-reactive today.  I feel like I have so many possible tasks that it’s hard to prioritize — it’s important to test the new cataloging system, but I feel I do that best by cataloging.  I have an employee who works from home (well, sort of an employee — more of a sage/predecessor who is transitioning to retirement, which is why I have my job in the first place), and I have no idea what she’s doing most of the time.  Things get done, and quickly, but I don’t know how she’s dealing with the new system.  And of course nothing is the same as it was in the old system, and I just feel… in the middle of things.  I guess I’m just in a situation where I can’t make everyone happy because there are too many people with different wants and needs, and no one has enough time, and it just kind of sucks.  I wish I knew enough to take care of all of them…  I suppose I could learn more SQL and ColdFusion and become a software engineer of sorts, but even then, I would only be willing to devote so much of my time to my job, and it would never be enough.

But I like my job.  I really do.  I’m excited that there is a new librarian on staff in the art department!  We talked for a little while today about where she’s going with her project, and it’s so nice to talk to someone who speaks your language.  Uncontrolled keyword terms make her eyes widen with fright, just like mine.  I’m looking forward to working with her.  In some ways it makes me wonder what it would be like to work in a formal library setting, surrounded by people who speak the language.  I have this idea of it that the library is this ivory tower of standards and policies and systems that run like well-oiled, efficient machines, but I’m sure that when it comes to the digital realm, we’re all just trying to stay afloat and swim when we can.

I’m going to buy a house.  I’ve been saying, “I’m thinking about buying a house,” and, “I’m looking into buying a house.”  Enough of the wishy-washy non-committal drivel — I’m going to buy a house.  Or something.  I looked at my first one last weekend, and it was totally weird.  It had this crazy added-on master bedroom, the entry to which was via a sliding glass door off of the kitchen.  It did have nice floors, and cute little rooms (apart from the gigantic addition, which was not cute).  And it was affordable and well-located.  But not the right one.  I’m just trying to get an idea for what the market is before I make any decisions, looking to buy sometime next spring (and finish out my new lease with my new roommate).

New roommate?  Yes, I’ve found her.  I haven’t met her, but we talked on the phone and exchanged e-mails, and she seems like she’ll be really nice — a grad student coming from Boston.  Half of the people I talk to raise their eyebrows and relate a psycho-roommate-from-hell story, and the other half are excited about it.  I’m excited about it.  My worst roommate experience was with Dumpster Dawn, and even that was livable.  It would have been even more livable without the scary-eyed cats and weed and freeloader boyfriend and all-over-the-house crafting studio.  And I’ve had a couple of other really great roommates.  I’ll take my chances, and I think it will go well.

1 Comment

Filed under Information Science, Life, work

One response to “A Day that Started with Shattered Plates

  1. I must say I think we’ve all had roommates like Dumpster Dawn…lol. I liked how you hyperlinked her name to her own story. Anyhoo, I like your stories. Hope your doing well sweetheart….EC

Leave a Reply

