Passive Aggressive Notes from Strangers

Once upon a time, long, long ago (in “the dark years”), I worked for someone who would leave a lot of notes and then complain that no one ever read them. Sometimes I would work about 50 feet away (maybe) in the front part of our office, and I would return to my desk to find a new note. I can’t say I’m above the note-leaving — it’s happened. Another time (also in “the dark years”), for money I really needed, I lived in a sorority house for a year as the “adult in charge” (or something). It felt really necessary once to leave a written, illustrated reminder near the dishwasher regarding which soap is okay to use (dishwasher detergent) and which soap is not okay to use (Dawn). I thought of it more as educational than passive aggressive, and I did confront the issue in person (though I never found out who put Dawn in the dishwasher to begin with). Now when I think of leaving a note that says “printer is for employees only” or something, I think fondly of the former boss and try my best to use oral communication.

Yesterday a friend linked me to this site: passive aggressive notes from roommates, neighbors, coworkers, and strangers. Here you’ll find jewels such as this:

p.a.

I love that this note required two different markers and three safety pins. Apart from the obvious hilarity/horrificness of the “blood” bit, note the little heart in the exclamation mark…

5 Comments

Filed under Life, What's wrong with the world

5 responses to “Passive Aggressive Notes from Strangers

  1. Lindsey P.

    You know, I actually think about that particular illustration nearly every time I start my dishwasher. It makes my dishwashing even more pleasant, thinking about that picture, which I think was not passive aggressive at all, but instead genius on your part. Definately pure “leslieness” that makes me smile.

    I love your plants–your shamrock is beautiful and I am inspired to go start my herb garden that I’ve been wanting right now.

  2. christophermgomez

    I love knowing that you wrote and posted this at work. But of course, now people will know that I was reading your blog and posting comments while at work. Tee hee.

    Also, I think you should call a spade a spade and name that evil, man-hating, old boss of yours.

  3. Haven’t you heard of setting your timestamp to post at a time other than when you actually write? I wrote this last night while I wasn’t out with you… but I’m writing the comment while at work, so I guess I’m guilty…

  4. Kris

    When my company was bought out by another, there were some procedural changes as would be expected. Every time I missed one minute detail I received an email from the main office addressed to not only me but practically everyone in the company listing how the process should be done from beginning to end. EVERY time. I wanted to throw my computer out the window and possibly follow.

  5. christophermgomez

    Now Kris, “we need to talk about your TPS reports.”

Leave a Reply

