Train of Thought

Bees

There are times when it seems everything in the world will converge in one single point. Everything that was so distant draws nearer, until it eventually connects with everything else. The world is a collection of objects and experiences, but with little threads running through, connecting all of them in an intricate web.

Example: Bees are dying, and their hives are made of tiny hexagons. The tile on the floor of the bathroom at school consists of black and white hexagons, and an article I read a couple of weeks ago referenced Jorge Luis Borges’s story, “The Library of Babel,” which begins by describing “The universe (which others call the Library)” as being “composed of an indefinite, perhaps infinite number of hexagonal galleries.” Borges, incidentally, was a librarian, as I will also be in a few weeks. I’m interested in reading a particular translation of his stories, so I ordered it off of Amazon. To get the free shipping, I added on another book, Miranda July’s No One Belongs Here More than You, which I mentioned in a post a few weeks ago. The two books arrived today, and as I was looking at the jacket on the July book, I thought to myself, ” I think she was in a movie,” and read on to find that, indeed, she wrote, directed, and starred in Me and You and Everyone We Know, one of the best movies I’ve seen in a long time. I watched it about a year ago with a friend I’m meeting for dinner tomorrow night…

And this is how my life works sometimes. I wish I could bring it all the way back to bees, but I haven’t gotten there yet.

Wait: Said friend dressed up as the cutest bee for Halloween in 2002. There.

Note: Bee print cards available on Etsy at the nydampress shop.

1 Comment

Filed under Current Reading, Life

One response to “Train of Thought

  1. We *are* all connected… wonderful post!

Leave a Reply

