Eating at Home: Week 1 of 4

My first week of eating at home has gone pretty well.  I slipped up a couple times — once because the group I was going to see Regina Spektor with wanted to eat at the Paramount Cafe beforehand, and once because I was with my sister getting coffee, and I just sort of forgot about the rule and ordered an Americano with soy and some fruit. Oh, and once more when I was going to buy an Odwalla juice, but decided to have Wild Oats just make me a fresh juice instead for $0.50 more.  It’s not really “dining out” anyway.  My sister cooked a lot this week, which has helped.  I can’t believe I haven’t had French fries in over a week.  A true feat.

Thinking more and more about my recent rule-making (and rule-following), I’m starting to wonder if I am on the wrong path…  The real goal isn’t to avoid eating out or to avoid dating, it’s about spending less money, and taking some time for myself without the distraction of a relationship.  Even more, the goal is probably just to be more conscious of what I’m doing, why I’m doing it, and if it’s the best thing to be doing.  That’s not to say that abstaining from men and dining out isn’t good practice, but as I’m doing (or not doing) these things, I should try to make it less about the rules themselves and more about consciousness.   Less about the rules, and more about the desired outcome.  A little voice in the back of my head is piping up with terms like “act utilitarianism, rule utilitarianism, deontological ethics, and consequentialism,” but I have to ignore it.  Mostly because reading enough Kant or Mill to post on any of this and not sound like an ass is not what I want to do with my evening.

Leave a comment

Filed under food, Life

Leave a Reply

