Sunny Saturday

Coffee Table

I’m in consumer mode today: a birthday present, a graduation present, and a new coffee table for me! We’ve been looking for a smaller one for a long time — it makes our apartment seem just a little bigger, which is nice. My sister and I discovered a fabulous shoe store called True Love, where shoes are cheap and cute and “vegan friendly,” which I think is a nice way of spinning “synthetic materials” in a way that makes you think it’s good. I resisted the urge to purchase anything there… Also, I made the half-fortunate discovery that Border’s sells Paperchase merchandise. I’m glad I’ve grown out of the stuff just a little bit, but even so, my checkbook probably still isn’t pleased. Not that I write checks, but you know what I mean.

Speaking of checks, the verdict on my checking account is that I like it very, very much. I have a new strategy: I keep money in the account all month, and use my cash-back credit card to make purchases. For every dollar I spend on that card, I get 1%-5% back, and meanwhile I’m earning 4% interest on the money in my account. This month I earned about $22 between the two accounts (I made a few big purchases for work, too, which were reimbursed). The electronic checks are working out fine, too — I just have to plan ahead a little bit. And it would be nice if I didn’t spend my earnings on alcohol every month. Or at least not Wednesday-night alcohol (I had a rough Thursday this week).
What else? Made a new playlist for my family (they’re in Nebraska this week for my brother’s motorcycle race). It’s a good one:

  • Light Enough to Travel – The Be Good Tanyas
  • When the Creepers Creep In – The Village Green
  • Good Fortune – PJ Harvey
  • Love & Communication – Cat Power
  • Smile – Lily Allen (just for my brother who says “that’s just bad taste.” I beg to differ.
  • For Us – Pete Yorn
  • Down South – Tom Petty
  • We Are Nowhere and It’s Now – Bright Eyes*
  • Young Folks – Peter Bjorn & John
  • Cowbell – Tapes ‘n’ Tapes
  • Gone for Good – The Shins*
  • LLL – Jesse Sykes & The Sweet Hereafter
  • Love Love Love – The Mountain Goats*
  • Happy Up Let’s Go – The Shout Out Louds
  • Fight Song for True Love – Soltero*
  • Free Man in Paris – Joni Mitchell
  • With Age – Karate*
  • You Might Walk Away – Jesse Sykes and the Sweet Hereafter
  • The Latest Toughs – Okkervil River*
  • Avenues – Whiskeytown
  • Fire Island, AK – The Long Winters
  • Girl in the War – Josh Ritter
  • If You Ain’t Got Love – Mason Jennings

That all fit on one disk, amazingly. Thanks to Melissa for introducing me to several of these (the starred ones) on her Christmas ’05 compilation, which I still listen to all the time. Now there’s a girl with great taste in music…

3 Comments

Filed under Current Listening, design, fashion, Money

3 responses to “Sunny Saturday

  1. Kris

    I discovered True Love a few weeks ago. I didn’t come out empty-handed…love that it’s a boutique store dedicated to shoes.

    Love that you put the Peter Bjorn and John song on the comp – but it’s a little mean too! Just thinking about the song gets the whistle hook stuck in my head…

  2. Melissa

    Thanks for the shoutout! Glad you’ve enjoyed some of my favorite songs. Do please note, though, that the Okkervil song is titled “The Latest Toughs,” as in “all the latest toughs / you’ve gotta shrug ’em off / or shut ’em off.” Kinda lends the song a new, buoyant, don’t-let-the-man-get-you-down resiliency, right?

    Great playlist, girl.

  3. Thanks for the correction and the comments! I’ll change that here and on my computer. I can’t hear lyrics very well without supreme effort or near-endless replaying… And on “Young Folks” — I never thought of that, and hope my parents didn’t notice the bit about “we don’t care about our own folks” — if they did, I’ll just say I think it refers to “our own people” (which I think it does, but who knows).

Leave a Reply

