Wanted:

Your happy thoughts.  9-2 on Friday as I take my comprehensive exam.  Imagine me focused, knowledgeable, undistractable by hunger, thirst, other people’s sniffling noises, or my own need to pee every half hour (I’m serious — these are my worries!).  Help me hope for good questions, to which I will have intelligent, well-formed answers…

Maybe you would like to ponder on these, Shiyali Ramamrita Ranganathan’s Five Laws of Library Science (1931):

  1. Books are for use.
  2. Every reader his or her book.
  3. Every book its reader.
  4. Save the time of the reader.
  5. The Library is a growing organism.

Or the updated set of laws by Michael Gorman (1995):

  1. Libraries serve humanity.
  2. Respect all forms by which knowledge is communicated.
  3. Use technology intelligently to enhance service.
  4. Protect free access to knowledge; and
  5. Honor the past and create the future

… And, of course, the many applications and implications of these laws in a rapidly changing field…

Sigh…  There’s just no way to study for this except broadly.  Really, I’ve been studying for it since I started the program, I guess.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

