pre-nap post

I’m on my way to take a nap (for the life of me I can’t get to bed before 1 or 1:30 anymore, despite waking up at 6:30). I’ve just had two glorious days of getting stuff done (just a little paper and the article critiques left). I am working on cataloging these images of museums — not images of works in them, but of the museums themselves. It’s really challenging because in most cases there are so many creators, but all have to be under one work record. For example: the Musée du Louvre was built in the 16th century by Pierre Lescot on the site of a fortress that was built in 1190, but added to by I.M. Pei in 1989. And that’s just a glossing-over. (if you want to learn more, the Louvre website offers a pretty good little history of the building). Anyway, in theory, you should be able to type in Lescot or Pei in an artist search and come up with the Louvre. You should also be able to type in the title “The Louvre” and come up with all of the images we have of the building under one record. And that’s just the Louvre. Then there’s the Vatican Museums, the Hermitage, the British Museum, and more. I love this.

Anyway, the whole reason I put off napping wasn’t to tell you that, but to draw your attention to this really cool blog. I love maps, and this site has some really interesting specimen. Sometimes I wish I were that dedicated to something, or that my blog had a theme of some sort. It doesn’t, but apparently you’re reading it anyway.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

