Motivation…

…I have so little.  I think maybe in high school I did.  Maybe my freshman year of college.  But then there was that quarter sophomore year when all I took was 20th Century American Poetry (which was actually one of the best classes I have ever taken, and one that was easy to be motivated about), Elementary Spanish (which I should have tested out of, but didn’t try hard enough), Intro to Psychology, and Speech, and I never had much drive after that.  I can’t do my work.  I have been online all day, with breaks for eating, grocery shopping (twice), and eating more.  I don’t even have anything to wear tomorrow because I didn’t do laundry.

I look down on television (despite my loyalty to Grey’s Anatomy and Brothers & Sisters), but really, is the internet so different?  Are my endless Google searches any more productive than channel surfing?  I would like to think so (at least I’m a little more active in my internet searches than I would be pushing remote control buttons), but it’s probably only slightly more productive…

All of that said, I could have done more today, but I did get some work done — the web tutorial is done (not my best work, but it’s a good start, and I think it’s worthy of the one-credit-hour class).  I have about 110 pages left in The Starfish and the Spider, and have some ideas for where to take it in my paper.  By Thursday: turn in the tutorial, finish and turn in a take-home exam, finish and turn in a project on library technology.  For next Monday: finish up article critiques, finish the book and write 5-7 pages on it.  It’s going to be okay.  It always is.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

