….And Reading

Lying on the Couch, Leadership in the Library

School slows me down a bit on the pleasure reading, but I’ve managed about 2/3 of Yalom’s Lying on the Couch…  It’s pretty funny, full of deceitful people on and off the therapeutic couch who seem to think that they are wise to everyone else’s tactics (or lack thereof).  On the side: Leadership in the Library and Information Science Professions, which is a bit more interesting than I would have expected so far, given that I find the word “leadership” nauseating and am suspicious of those who aspire to be “leaders.”  Not that I don’t believe in good leaders — I just think the best ones become leaders not when they take a course on how to be one, but through their actions and the way others think about them.  Maybe someday I’ll get over this, which is undeniably rooted in my freshman year of college.  Or maybe (just maybe) I’m right.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

