The unforgettable end

Part of the reason I went the library route is because, while I love learning, I forget so much of what I learn. It’s made me a good researcher, always having to look things up again. My mind is filled with useless clutter (elementary school friends’ phone numbers, for example), but can’t recall character names or plots, or often whether or not I’ve seen a movie until I’m 3/4 through it and it seems vaguely familiar. Maybe this blog will help with that. Oh, and maybe it will yield some good recommendations (hint!).

Anyway, a few weeks ago I re-read Good Morning, Midnight by Jean Rhys. I read it first during my freshman year of college, and even wrote an eleventh-hour paper on it, possibly (somehow) comparing it to Mrs. Dalloway in a (somehow) transparently autobiographical way (ohhh, undergraduate papers…). On the back of the book it says, “Few encounters in fiction have been so brilliantly conceived, and few have come to a more unforgettable end.” For the life of me, I couldn’t remember the end… I knew the woman drank a lot, and that she was kind of afraid of the world (couldn’t recall why, though). I won’t give it away, but it was moving this time around. “…it hurts, when you have been dead, to come alive.” Rhys is not straightforward about telling this story, but she is so damn good at capturing the desperation of her heroine (if one can even call her that). Afterall, this is the woman who chose to tell the story of Mr. Rochester’s mad wife in Wide Sargasso Sea. She portrays (honestly, and not in a nice way) marginal characters–those shunned, or worse, ignored, by the norms. And I like it.

I wonder if that was what I was supposed to get out of the book the first time around… I’m sure I have notes and a so-called essay somewhere…

goodmorningmidnight.jpg

Leave a comment

Filed under Current Reading

Leave a Reply

